Derek Young, Chair [term: 8/23/16 to 8/22/21]

Mr. Young was appointed to the Board in 2015. He currently works for Amazon Web Services and is the co-founder of Tacoma Runners.

Mr. Young is a proven leader, entrepreneur and manager with over 20 years of experience in process development, program management, risk management, and communications strategy across a variety of industries with clients around the world. He possesses a highly contagious entrepreneurial and community spirit.

Stanley Rumbaugh, Vice Chair [term: 8/23/17 to 8/23/22]

Mr. Rumbaugh was first appointed to the THA Board in 1998. He was the founding partner of the law firm of Rumbaugh, Rideout, Adkins and Wallace where he practiced until his election to the Pierce County Superior Court in 2012. Stan served 10 years as Trustee on the Bates Technical College Board of Trustees and has served as a director of the World Trade Council, member of the Washington State Association for Justice Board of Governors, and on the boards of many other public, private and professional organizations. 

Dr. Minh-Anh Hodge, Commissioner [term: 8/16/2019 to 8/15/2024]

Dr. Hodge is Director of the Second Language Acquisition, Elementary Education and Leadership for the Tacoma School District in Tacoma, Wash. In this role, she directs the development, implementation, coordination and review of programs for limited English speaking students, including the State Transitional Bilingual, Emergency Immigrant, Refugee Assistance, and Title III projects.  In addition, she oversees the district’s International Education and Indian Education programs.

For over 25 years, Dr. Hodge has designed, directed and implemented programs serving language minority students and parents. Prior to her current post, she served as an Instructional Director to supervise the overall operations of 14 elementary schools and to conduct performance evaluations of these principals. Since this past school year, she has limited this scope to four schools in order to focus her assistance and support to the district’s Superintendent in matters relating leadership development and diplomatic relations with district administrators and community leaders. 

Dr. Hodge is a native of South Vietnam, a past Title VII Bilingual Education Fellow, and a doctoral graduate of the University of Washington.  She is extremely active in community activities and has served on numerous boards at the local, state and national levels. She is intensely passionate about serving the needs of immigrant students and families and has worked tirelessly to ensure equal access, equal opportunities, and equal voices in all arenas for these communities.  

Dr. Arthur C. Banks, Commissioner [term: 8/4/15 to 8/4/20]

Dr. Banks was reappointed to the Board in 2015. He is a pastor at Eastside Baptist Church in Tacoma. Dr. Banks is a member of the Tacoma Ministerial Alliance. He serves on the Board of Directors for the William Factory Small Business Incubator. He is active with the North Pacific Baptist Convention and American Leadership Forum. He also served as the first organizing President of Hilltop Action Coalition and chaired the Tacoma Ministerial Alliance's Committee to rename K Street to Martin Luther King Jr. Way.

Shennetta Smith, Commissioner [term: 8/22/18 to 8/21/23

Shennetta Smith is a single mother of four children. They live at THA’s community of New Salishan. Ms. Smith is the founder and Chief Executive Operator of Diamonds in The Rough Foundation Inc., an organization that helps women and their children move into the next phase of living without abuse. Ms. Smith is the co-author of I AM Beautiful: The Evolution of Beauty. She has served as an advisory Director on the Salishan Association Board since 2017. Her educational journey began at Clover Park Technical College where she obtained her certificate as a Chemical Dependency Specialist and her AA degree in Human Services. Continuing her education, Shennetta completed her Bachelor's Degree at Evergreen State College-Tacoma with an emphasis in Psychology.